Getting around in Santo Domingo

krissiebee

Mar 21, 2005
Hi everyone:

I'm going to Santo Domingo in May for a conference. The conference is being held at the new Hilton on the Malecon. We get a slightly discounted rate for rooms there, but it appears that I can get a less expensive room at one of the non-chain hotels in the Zona Colonial. As convenient as it would be to stay in the conference hotel, I am a graduate student and need to economize as much as possible (especially since I'll probably be spending $600 on airfare).

So my questions are: is the distance between the Zona Colonial area and the Malecon easily walkable? I've looked at maps but can't really tell. If not, how's the bus system in SD?

Thanks.
Kristina

PS: if you can recommend any comfortable and generally non-sketchy SD hotels for less than $90/night, please let me know! Internet access is a plus.

ricktoronto

Grande Pollo en Boca Chica
Jan 9, 2002
It is easily walkable. The bus systems and the taxi cooperativos are probably a bit much to master anyway. How big is the price difference between the Hilton and your hotel (which hotel did to choose?)?

You might check prices at the Melia and Jaragua and you'd still be on the Malecon.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
I am not that up to date on Sto Dgo

Hotels, and I am sure some of the other posters can come up with something , perhaps better. Try Aparta Hotel Plaza Florida on Bolivar 203 (809 541 3957 & fax # 809 381 0502). The taxis in Santo Domingo should be about $3 per trip (RD$100??).

As far as walking from the Zona Colonial to the Hotel Hilton in the Malecon Center, be sure to take lots of deoderant with you as you will arrive all sweaty and dirty...it's about 5 kilometers or so.

HB :D:D