Como Hablamos los Dominicanos

Status
Not open for further replies.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Since this is Spanish 101, here is the perfect introduction to Dominican spanish. This is an ebook (also available in hardcopy here in Santo Domingo, I'm not sure if its available in the exterior but the ebook version is PDF Adobe Acrobat and can be downloaded).

This book was produced by Grupo Leon Jimenes a few years ago in addition to other books to celebrate their 100th anniversary as a prominent Dominican firm.

This book focuses on Dominican Spanish, enjoy!

(Sorry for english speakers, this book is only available in Spanish)

http://glj.com.do/libro_comohablamos.htm

AnnaC

Gold
Jan 2, 2002
Thank you Nals,

Looks like an interesting book. Perhaps when you have time you could give us some of it in point form. Is it about how Dominicans speak and write it differently?

Marianopolita

Former Spanish forum Mod 2010-2021
Dec 26, 2003
Me parece muy interesante

I saw this book at Librer?a Cuesta over a year ago and I decided not to buy it. I am glad that they have an on-line version (very strange imo). As though I don?t have enough on my plate to read but I will definitely go through this book. I glanced at the content again and I will read it now since it?s on-line.

LDG.

Marianopolita

Dec 26, 2003
I am making my way through the book very nicely. If anyone does decide to read it I suggest reading chapters 1,3,5 & 6. Chapter 2 focuses heavily on linguistic aspects in Dominican Spanish therefore may not be of interest to everyone or easy to understand. Chapter 4 is a long chapter but covers vocabulary aspects in detail. Chapter 7 contains conversations with Dominicans of various socioeconomic levels to show how speech patterns differ at each level.

I will be able to provide a book report very soon on chapters 1,3,5 & 6.

LDG.

Last edited:

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Well! Since many of you seem to enjoy these books...