Where is Santiago Rodriguez?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
It's in the border region between Valverde (Mao) and Dajabon, south of Monte Cristi provinces.

From Santiago, take the carretera Duarte going north (towards Monte Cristi) and after you pass the Maizal campo (before Laguna Salada, but after Bizono) make a left turn towards Mao. In Mao, get on route 20 going west and a few kilometers outside of town turn left towards route 18, going to Loa Quemados. This road passes through Santiago Rodriguez province and its provincial capital Sabaneta. Beyond that, the road leads all the way to Dajabon and into northern Haiti culminating in a crossroads with Cap Haitien north of there and Gonaives south.

Other ways of getting there is through route 16 from Santiago (the road that leads to San Jose de las Matas via Janico), I would not recommend this though.

Or you can take the route 18 from Santiago (after crossing the Fantino Bridge) and head towards Mao via the campos of La Canela and Guatapanal.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Just a few corrections

The bridge out of Santiago to the south is Hermanos Pati?o
The little town is Villa Bison? or better known as Navarrete.

Take the Joaqu?n Balaguer highway and go west. After you pass through Navarrete, Ponton, Cruce de Esperanza, Batey ,and Maizal, you come to Cruce de Guayacanes.
Turn left.When that road ends, turn right. In Mao there is a Shell station on the right as you come into town. Take the next right, a major, four lane avenue that ends at the Fortaleza. Turn right again. Stay to the left at the fork in the road. Follow that road all the way to Sabaneta. About 1/2 hour now.

HB :p

Don Juan

Living Brain Donor
Dec 5, 2003
Hillbilly, you seem to be well travelled in DR. I've never been west of Santiago. Please tell me, have you ever had a chance to travel north-south along the border? How are the roads? Love to some day see this area if it's safe enough. Thanks.

pi?acolada

Mar 9, 2005
Dominican Rep map