The Secret of Santo Domingo

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
The beauty of Santo Domingo is not something that can be easily seen. In fact, when it comes to first impressions, Santo Domingo fails miserably. Santo Domingo is not a metropolis that reveals its secrets to everyone from the start. You have to go beyond the initial shock you get as you enter into the metropolis for the first time, because the beauty of this metropolis is hidden, only reserved for those willing to take the time to truly discover and explore this metropolis.

After all, few people will deny the fantastically beautiful Plaza de Espa?a with the Alcazar de Colon on the right and the Atarazanas on the left. Few people will deny that the few kilometers that makes up Avenida George Washington (i.e. the malecon) is possibly the most beautiful seaside tropical drive in the world. Few people will deny the subdued beauty of Gazcue and few people will ever deny the elegance of the tree-lined Avenida Winston Churchill.

But, the beauty of Santo Domingo goes beyond the physical, beyond the obvious, beyond the easy to see. Santo Domingo reveals its beauty in other forms that can only be seen if they are experience. The beauty of this metropolis is found in groups of school children in their navy blue uniforms strolling through the roads towards their schools. The beauty is found in the women who enlighten the street scene with their seductive physical beauty tempting even the most loyal husband and family man. The beauty is to be found in an early morning chat with a street sentinel at a local colmado while sipping a shot of delicious Caf? Santo Domingo. The beauty is to be found in the smiles that manage to enlighten the urban landscape. The beauty is to be found in the light brown, blue, or green eyes piercing back at you on an intersection from the face of a beautiful woman staring out the window of a guagua as the bus crosses in front of you from left to right.