Manipulation of Exchange Rate...

Snuffy

Bronze
May 3, 2002
I have a question that I hope some of the intellectuals here can answer for me. I always thought that the exchange rate was based on a worldwide consensus of the value of the currency. That if the Dominican government needs to buy dollars to for example purchase oil and they don't have the dollars then they need to exchange pesos for dollars either at home or abroad. Now I can understand if they are able to force an exchange rate at home. But how does that work if they are wanting to buy dollars abroad. If some bank will not sell them dollars at 29 to 1 but demand 36 to 1 do they pay the 36 to 1? At some points they must have to go outside the country for dollars?

I'm obviously in the dark on how this works and would like someone to enlighten me. thank you.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Determining of the Currency Exchange Rate

I will try to explain in the best way I possibly can how the exchange rates are determined worldwide. This is based on the exchange rate floating, not fixing.

Each nation has an adopted currency from which economic transactions can be made with. The reason for currency (as oppose using a good or service) to pay for a good or service is used, is because its more efficient and allows for more material gain.

Let's use Dominican Pesos (DOP) vs United States Dollar (USD) for the sake of discussion. Let's also assume that the two currency are the only two currency in the world. Let's also assume that the DR produces only agricultural products and the US produces material goods only.