Taino words in Dominican Spanish

Status
Not open for further replies.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Here are some Taino words that are still alive in Dominican Spanish. Notice, some words have been officially incorporated into Spanish due to a lack of Spanish word for that particular item (ie. Ceiba, Hamaca, etc). Other words are use interchangeably with their Spanish counterparts (ie. Bohio and Casita, Mucaro and Buho, etc). Also, some words are exclusively used in the DR, Puerto Rico, and Cuba (ie. Katey, Jibaro, etc).

Also, keep in mind that often many Taino words are used as idiomatic expressions and/or idioms.
Also, this is only a small selection of Taino words used in Dominican Spanish.

Aji = n : Hot Pepper.

Anacaona = n : Golden Flower.

Areito = n : A Traditional Dances with spoken historic songs.

Arepa = n : Corn Cake.

Bara = n : Kill or Death, also a whip.

Barbacoa = n : A Stand, a four legged stand, made of sticks, used in the cooking process of roasting meat.

Batata = n : Sweet Potato.

Bohio = n : small square house (typical countryside homes).

Cocuyo = n : Small Lighting Bug, with a blueish light, they come out at night.

Colibri = n : Hummingbird.

Cana = n : Any number of Palmetto trees (A type of palmetto are the palms that line the malecon of Santo Domingo)

Ceiba = n: Silkcotton Tree (These are gigantic trees visible in the Cibao valley especially, many are upwards of 300 years old!)

Canoa = n : Small Boat.

Cacike = n : Chief.

Catey or Katey = n : Disturb, bother.

Cibao = n : Stone Mountains (today Cibao is the name of the valley, not the mountain range which Cordillera Central)

Cojiba = n : Rolled Tabacco

Cucubano = n : Large Lighting Bug.

Choreto = n : Abundance.

Guaraguao = n : Red Tailed Hawk.

Guama = n : Large Shade Tree, a fruit Tree.

Guagua
= n : Bus or Car, a form of transit.

Guajey = n : Gord Scraper also known as a Guira.

Guayo = n : Grater.

Hamaca = n : Hanging Bed.