Rhino Iguanas

planner

.............. ?
Sep 23, 2002
Anyone know about these? I have 2 canadians who want to go see them here and I know nothing about this.

Mirador

On Permanent Vacation!
Apr 15, 2004
planner said:
Anyone know about these? I have 2 canadians who want to go see them here and I know nothing about this.

Try the area around Lake Enriquillo, particularly Cabrito island...

planner

.............. ?
Sep 23, 2002
Thanks Mirador. We are specifically looking for excursion info and I had no idea where to even begin geographically. I'd never heard of them

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Or

You can always head for the national zoo, if you find to not have the time to see them in their natural environment.

Though, despite that, they come up to you expecting food because so many visitors have fed them while visiting the Enriquillo Valley.

Other native creatures includes the Cotica, which only lives in sizable numbers in the wilderness of the Cordillera Central and in the Los Haitises swamps area.

The hutia and solenodon in theory exist, but they could possibly be extinct in the wild. However, you can see them at the national zoo.

Also, the smallest lizard in the world is in isla Beata, highly inaccessible island, remote, and the lizard is so small that the chances of seeing it are very small.

Additionally, there are wild boars in certain areas of the Cordillera Central, they were introduced by the Spaniards but live wildly in certain areas of that mountain range.

With plant life, the best place to see orchids is in the Bahoruco National Park (near Enriquillo Valley, in fact you can see the entire valley, Lago Enriquillo, and even Lage Samutre in Haiti from some of the higher elevation areas), this park has around 80% of all the orchids found in the country. Or, you can indulge with comfort and ease by looking at all the plant species grown in this country by visiting the Botanical Gardens, one of the largest in Latin America.

-NAL