Comments On This...

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Musicqueen said:
From the Listin Diario today...it happened in Montevideo, Uruguay...

http://www.listindiario.com/cuerpos/republica/rep1a.htm

Do you guys that live in DR think this will be good for the country?

MQ
This will be benefitial more to the DR than the mercosur nations. A free trade agreement with those countries on the similar scale of the CAFTA agreement will benefit DR more so than the perpetrators of such agreements based on one simple thing called economy of scale.

For the non-economists out there, an economy of scale is the lower of cost per unit of production as production increases.

Mercosur is a large market area, ecompassing Uruguay, Argentina, Brasil, and Paraguay. The size of the Argentinian and Brasilian market is sufficient to grant the Dominican Republic more economy of scale and increase exports to Mercosur. The Uruguayan market is very small, even smaller than the DR, but since its part of the Mercosur it will simply marginally enhance the economy of scale of the DR towards that trade block.

Much how CAFTA will give bigger benefits to the DR and the other Central American countries with little gains to the United States, because there is more economy of scale in the American market due to its large size that Dominican companies would have a better chance of expanding beyond the contours of the DR and further enrich the country via higher sales volume and the taxation that follows every sale made.

Thus, yes, an agreement with Mercosur (or any market economy that is bigger than the DR) will be in the best benefit of the country and its economy.

-NAL

Last edited:

Keith R

"Believe it!"
Jan 1, 2002
www.temasactuales.com
Nal0whs said:
Mercosur is a large market area, ecompassing Uruguay, Argentina, and Chile which are three of the wealthiest Spanish speaking countries in the world.