visa for canada...emj_08, process from start to finish

emj_08

Feb 9, 2006
hey people, just wondering about the process of getting my dominican boyfriend a visa to come here to stay with me in canada. we were hoping he could come for one year bcuz we both plan to return to the Dominican (as i am a teacher and have lived and worked there before). my boyfriend and i have already filled out all the applications and he has all the necessary papers and documents to bring to the embassy in santo domingo. im wondering what the chances really are for him to get the visa and if there are any requirements people know about that im not aware of and am therefore not filling. thanks for your help, guys!
-Angie

AnnaC

Gold
Jan 2, 2002
What kind of visa are you applying for?

If it's a visitor's visa he has little chance if he can't prove that he has strong ties and motives to return to the DR after three months or whatever time they give.

Last edited:

emj_08

Feb 9, 2006
we're looking for a temporary resident visa... that way he can come here and live with me, he can do certain types of jobs, help me with rent and such.. also we think we might have a shot bcuz I am an ESL teacher with experience teaching there and I have offers to be a nanny for a few wealthy families. so if i can prove i want to go back after a year (which is the truth, i really do) and that he and i would return together.. u think that gives us a shot?

emj_08

Feb 9, 2006
ive already been to this website a hundred times, and downloaded the application for a temporary resident visa.. its under the section forms and applications. what would give them grounds to grant the visa? what is acceptable as a tie or motive to return to the dominican republic?

ricktoronto

Grande Pollo en Boca Chica
Jan 9, 2002
Here is the answer. They will say no. Period. No matter how you can or cannot spell. The last year of reporting they issued 202 visitors visas. You can bet sankies and boyfriends missed the cut on that list.