Journalist Needs Help Researching NYC High Schoolers

Jzakattack

Mar 4, 2006
Hello --

I am a journalist researching the cultural challenges faced by newly arrived Dominicans to the NYC public school system, and I can really use some viewpoints. If anyone out there can help provide some cultural insight, please respond. All responses will remain anonymous. Thanks.

JZ

deelt

Bronze
Mar 23, 2004
Hi JzakAttack:

Here are some references and points that may prove useful to your research:

Dominican and Dominican-American specific studies:
Hernandez, Ramona, et al. "Socioeconomic Profile of Dominicans in the United States." The CUNY Dominican Studies Institute. New York. October 2003.

*This report has a snapshot of Dominican student enrollment with in CUNY, discusses graduation rates, and compares Dominican graduation rates to general racial/ethnic groups. Refer to Chapter 8: The Educational Atainment of Dominicans in New York City. You can purchase a copy at minimal cost.

Fast Facts:
* 49.0% of Dominicans in the US that are 25 years or older had not completed HS in 2000. This is compared to 20% of the overall US population.

* 10.6 % of Dominicans in the US 25 years or older had attained a college degree. This is compared to 24.4% of overall US pop.

* Hernandez points out that while the educational attainment of Dominican immigrants is low, the situation of US-born Dominicans is sharply different.

* Nearly, 60% of all US-born Dominicans 25 years old or older in the US have received some college education, with 21.9 being college graduates. You can compare the latter figure with 13.3% for Mexicans and 12.1% for Puerto Ricans.

* The study also finds that Dominicans have high school enrollment and retention rates higher than other minority groups. Dominican females enrollment rates actually approximate that of the Avg. NYC high school retention rates.

Other Dominican-specific NYC HS data is also in this report.