Banco Popular Services for Visas

jean2006

Mar 11, 2006
Hello all, this is my first time here. I have heard that there is a service offered at Banco Popular for about $300.00 US where they will help the resident of the Dominican Republic with the visa application by getting a phone interview with the applicable embassy (they give a phone number to reach an officer who will later call you with an appointment) and they assist with getting all the papers filled out properly and filed. Has anyone heard of this service? If so, could you tell me more about it? This would be for someone from the Dominican Republic to come to Canada on a visitor's visa.
Thank you!

Last edited:

macocael

Bronze
Aug 3, 2004
www.darkhorseimages.com
This is not exactly the case. In order to apply for a visa de paseo a dominican must make the appoint ment through a Banco Popular branch -- the appt will like take place three months later. They will give you the consular requirements for theapplication, which youthen need to pull together yourself: proof that you own property, you have a good job, you have a bank acct, etc etc. Anything to show that you are so rooted in the community that you are unlikely to overstay your visa on a visit to the States. And the consulate might still reject your application, even if you provide all this info -- bear that in mind.

The consulate has entered into this arrangement with Banco Popular so as to ease theprocess and relieve the stress on the Consulate staff. But while BP might help you with your application, they are not in any way a guarantee that your application will be met with approval. They are just easing up the workload for the Consulate. I am not even sure you can get an appointment any other way, so you are forced to apply throughBP first.

jean2006

Mar 11, 2006
Thank you so much for the information. Do you know if the BP also does appointments for Canada or just the United States? Do you have any idea what they charge for this?

marcosdemoca