Starting a drop-in shelter in DR

Ivan

Mar 30, 2006
Hi, I am new to this thing- I have read some of the previous notes on this topic, but none have answered my question. I want to know If I plan to open a drop in shelter for street kids in DR, do I have to buy the land, out of pocket, that the place will be built on or can I ask the government for the land or some money to buy the land.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Basically, you need to work with a local orgaiization. You'll have to get to know all of the organizations that work with kids. This will take quite a few weeks of your time. THEN you can see about asking for something.

And land in any of the major cities with street children is extremely dear and difficult to come by. Do your homework first. The need is certainly there.

HB :D:D

ricktoronto

Grande Pollo en Boca Chica
Jan 9, 2002
I would like to understand the background and motives of anyone who wants to set up a shelter for street kids anywhere not just the DR.

tarrantino

Jan 12, 2006
Isn't the idea behind "drop ins" for you to have someplace that you can go if you are alone?

Mirador

On Permanent Vacation!
Apr 15, 2004
I suspect the OP knows very little about "street children" in the DR. They are not "homeless" in the traditional sense of the term. DR street children are not seeking a "home" and will not stay in a shelter, unless under compulsion. Like Hillbilly says: "do your homework first..."

-

A.J.

Jan 2, 2002
Not sure if it is still in existence but I volunteered for an organization Santiago called Accion Callejera a few years back (ugh 10 already). It was the same as what you are looking at doing, there was also the offer of classes, meals and a store they could buy things like clothing, at 1 or 2 pesos each.

There definently is the need, I still run into some of the kids today especially at the Aguilas games - they are now in the late teens, and tell me what they are up to.

Ivan

Mar 30, 2006