Bringing Fianceee to USA

deck5

Apr 24, 2006
Ok, I'm new to this. I dont' know if I'm in the right area. But, my fiancee is in the DR. I got the paperwork done, approved in the USA, and now we are waiting for the DR to give us an appointment. How long does this process work? They told me 6-8 months, and it's 7 months, and he isn't on the list yet. Anyone have any ideas on what I can do now? I've called my congress man, talked to the DR Consulate in Chicago. and I don't know what else to do.

deck5

Apr 24, 2006
Ok, I'm new to this. I dont' know if I'm in the right area. But, my fiancee is in the DR. I got the paperwork done, approved in the USA, and now we are waiting for the DR to give us an appointment. How long does this process work? They told me 6-8 months, and it's 7 months, and he isn't on the list yet. Anyone have any ideas on what I can do now? I've called my congress man, talked to the DR Consulate in Chicago. and I don't know what else to do.

drbill

Dec 3, 2005
:paranoid:
If they said 6-8 months and it's been 7... .

The fiance is generally a male and the fiancee is generally a female. The fianceee designation may have the authorities stumped, scratching their heads.

rellosk

Silver
Mar 18, 2002
Welcome to DR1!

The process is significantly longer than 7-8 months. It's more like 12+ months. But, there should be a government website where you can check your progress once you are assigned a case number.

You will probably get more useful answers to your questions on one of the following sites:

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/K-1visa_DR/
http://www.dominicanstotheusa.com

Moderator: You may want to move this thread to another forum (and delete the duplicate posting).

sonny

Aug 6, 2002
welcome