And now... a HardRock Cafe????

GringoCArlos

Retired Ussername
Jan 9, 2002
There is a new Hard Rock Cafe being installed in the square next to the Cathedral on the bottom of El Conde.

(sorry, just the news, no more comments from me.)

Good luck.

Last edited:

Squat

Tropical geek in Las Terrenas
Jan 1, 2002
wait til you see a McDonald's, a Gap, and a Foot Locker !!!

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Onions/Carrots said:
The goal of American businesses is to make the whole world look and feel as boring as it does in the states.
That may be true to certain extent, but every single "American" franchise that you see outside the US is often owned by non-Americans.

-NALs

Jan 3, 2003
NALs said:
That may be true to certain extent, but every single "American" franchise that you see outside the US is often owned by non-Americans.

-NALs

I understand Nals. My point is converting the America look worldwide. What's the allure of Grand Cayman for a foreigner when it looks like Bayside in Miami? WOW, Wendy's, Hard Rock Cafe, Mc'D's, Walmart.

suarezn

Gold
Feb 3, 2002
Supply and Demand...that's all there's to it. If the whole world were demanding more chimichurry stands that's what the world would be full of...

Personally I wouldn't mind having a few Walmarts, Lowes and Best Buys around the country. The fast food stuff I can do without...Ikea would be great...

Last edited:

M.A.R.

Silver
Feb 18, 2006
suarezn said:
Supply and Demand...that's all there's to it. If the whole world were demanding more chimichurry stands that's what the world would be full of...

Personally I wouldn't mind having a few Walmarts, Lowes and Best Buys around the country. The fast food stuff I can do without...Ikea would be great...

there go the mom & pops stores :( :( :(

Jan 3, 2003
M.A.R. said:
there go the mom & pops stores :( :( :(

I mean what do you expect, Suazern is gringa. She and gringas like her need the DR to look like Benton, Indiana----boring.