Business relations in DR

R

r jacob

Dear Freddy,
I am a MBA student in Trinidad and Tobago. I have chosen your country for a project study. I make a simple request. Can you provide me with any information on business relations in DR. How are introductions made, how is protocol conducted and any unusual customs unique to the DR that foreigners must be aware of in order to close good deals and maintain lasting relationships.

I would be more than happy to hear from you.
Many thanks.

F

Freddy

You want me to do your work for you?

Why don't you ask me a few very specific questions and I'll give you some specific answers.

The way your question is asked, it would take a couple of pages to answer.

I'd love to help you but you've got to help me help you.

R

r jacob

Thanks for responding. Do my work for me?, not at the least !
1. If I want to do business with a company in DR is it necessary for me to have a middleman?
2. Is it common to shake hands on first meeting, and, everytime after we meet?
3. Do Dominicans recognise their Caribbean neighbours for their business acumen and as key business partners?
4. Are business dealings conducted over lunch meetings?
5. Are business persons in DR considered aggressive or passive?

F

Frederic

1. If I want to do business with a company in DR is it necessary for me to have a middleman? NO. It might be convenient initially, until you get to know the business environment, but it is not necessary.

2. Is it common to shake hands on first meeting, and, everytime after we meet? YES. It is common for men and women to shake hands the first time and afterwards. And between women, or men and women, one cheek to cheek kiss-in-the-air is also common.