Ex pats

A.Hidalgo

Silver
Apr 28, 2006
HI. Can anyone tell me from what countries the largest number of ex pats come from in the DR. As usual just being curious.

Rocky

Honorificabilitudinitatibus
Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com
It must be regional.
In Sosua, it has to be Americans & Canadians.
Many years back it was Germans, but now there's just a residue of those days.
In Las Terenas, it would be French first, followed by German & Italian.
I guess only the Residencia office knows for sure, or the cedula office.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Mirador said:
Haiti, of course.
I don't think Haitians are considered "expats". They are more on the line of immigrants.

The difference between the two, from my understanding is that the first moves out of personal choice while the latter had no choice.

-NALs

qgrande

Bronze
Jul 27, 2005
NALs said:
I don't think Haitians are considered "expats". They are more on the line of immigrants.

The difference between the two, from my understanding is that the first moves out of personal choice while the latter had no choice.

-NALs
This is a very weird definition NALs, there's personal choice in both groups. If you check a dictionary the difference appears to be that expatriates are defined as simply 'those living in a country that is not their own', whereas immigrants 'come to a country to take up permanent residence'. So the difference appears to be in the permanency. In fact, that means that Haitians that take refuge or find some job in the DR with the aim of returning back home when they can are expats, while the Americans and Europeans that plan to retire in the DR are immigrants!
But of course the real difference in definitions in practice is that expats are rich or from rich countries and immigrants poor or from poor countries.

Rick Snyder

Silver
Nov 19, 2003
Okay, with that said then I will no longer go under the tag of expat. I am now and forever considering myself an immigrant from the USA.

Rocky