boat ownership

ryalso

May 31, 2006
Considering the DR for relocation. Seeking information regarding expenses, i.e. local and import taxes and fees for the permanent relocation of a boat for personal use. Would it be wise to hold ownership under a corporation? Also, any other advice or thoughts on restrictions or other considerations concerning boat ownership in the DR?
Have found these forums to be quite helpful.
Thanks in advance.
ry

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
Is this a permanent change, including becoming a citizen of the DR, or do you plan to retain your citizenship where you are now and become a resident of the DR.

Will vessel be used for recreation or some commercial purpose?

Where are you a living now? If in the US, does the vessel have state registration or is it documented?

Assuming vessel is for personal use, do you plan to travel periodically to Puerto Rico, Turks and Caicos, or one of the Caribbean islands?

Having lived aboard here for many years, I have some knowledge of boat ownership in the DR, as do Chris and maybe a couple of others on this board.

But first we need some of the basic info I have requested above, as there is not a simple answer to your question. Boat ownership in the DR is more complicated than in the US, PR, or most of the other Caribbean nations.

ryalso

May 31, 2006
Thanks for the quick response...and the list of considerations.
We would plan to reside in the DR (thinking Samana Peninsula) most of the year but won't rule out returning to the states (US) on occasion.
Unlikely we would change citizenship.
Current boat is a documented small (32') SF and would be for personal use.
Sounds like a cart before the horse thing, but is diesel and dockage available in that area? We've spent some time up in Puerto Plata near Ocean World and know there's a marina, but we'd like the Samana area, we think.