hacking laws

MTS

Jul 14, 2006
Are there any hacking laws in the dominican republic? What charges can be brought against a hacker? What if this hacker harmed a company in the United States? Can he be extradited? I cannot find any hacking laws.

I heard about a newspaper being hacked and the goverment seeking the hacker... if there are no hacking laws what can he be charged for?

I await your reply. Thank you.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
I am not sure if there are laws governing hacking per se. Probably not yet since most of the legislators are barely computer literate, if at all.....some cannot even read a newspaper--fact.
Why? You want to go hacking here??? It's been done a lot....never seen anyone going to jail for it...It just might be covered unter the intellectural property laws...
HB

MTS

Jul 14, 2006
I am actually a newspaper intern doing an article on hacking laws. There are some countries which have no hacking laws, thus my interest in DR. Thank you for the reply. But I must ask if some of these laws are actually applicable to hackers. I understand hacking a bank is an obvious crime and surely you have laws against such things (wire fraud). What about hacking a site and causing permanent unrepairable damage, or stealing user information (not actually intellectual property)? Vandalism does not cover the virtual world, no? I am sure a smart lawyer can get around this. Since alot of these laws are not computer specific they cannot be pinned down to a hacker since the crime has actually taken place outside of the country (and in a physical world a crime cannot be committed outside the country if you are in it), that is why laws in the United States exists that specifically pertain to hackers.

I would like a specific reply from a lawyer in the DR. Any further comments are welcomed.

Fabio J. Guzman

DR1 Expert
Jan 1, 2002
www.drlawyer.com