Dominican Migrant Women

Chris

Gold
Oct 21, 2002
www.caribbetech.com
[SIZE=+2]Money yields power, but not equality, for Dominican migrant women ? A UN Study

What do you think? I found this paragraph interesting in terms of women returning to the DR:

"
[/SIZE]
While the remittances contributed to the alleviation of poverty, the study found that their potential for local development remained limited. Most of the small businesses that women launched upon their return showed very low levels of productivity and profitability, due to the lack of access to credit and technical training programmes."

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
[SIZE=+2]Money yields power, but not equality, for Dominican migrant women ? A UN Study

What do you think? I found this paragraph interesting in terms of women returning to the DR:

"
[/SIZE]
While the remittances contributed to the alleviation of poverty, the study found that their potential for local development remained limited. Most of the small businesses that women launched upon their return showed very low levels of productivity and profitability, due to the lack of access to credit and technical training programmes."
What do I think? -It's true, women are expected to fulfill a role and regardless if they are the breadwinners or not, Dominican men (for the most part) will not take the role that is perceived to be feminine.

Notice how in most Dominican households young boys are allowed to play, commit pranks, or just sit around while the girls have to help with the cooking, taking care of the younger kids, taking care of the boys who are most often doing nothing, have to help clean the house, and do her own chores, homework, etc. etc etc.