dominican residency - is it true......

skyblue

Mar 20, 2006
i've been traveling back and forth from DR to the US for many many years and i've never found a need to obtain residency in DR.
in reading thru the forum, which i think is GREAT, i have found little information about what would be my main motivation for obtaining residency - importing household items w/o duty. i know that according to what is "written" as a dominican resident, you would have special benefits when important regular household goods duty free, but my question is "has anyone on this board, who has obtained a dominican residency, ever been able to bring anything into the DR duty free?" i'm talking about shipping something into the port (muelle). i know various persons who have residency, but no one has ever succesfully been able to use this benefit. has anyone here done it? is it real or just another tall tale? your responses are appreciated.

B

batich

i've been traveling back and forth from DR to the US for many many years and i've never found a need to obtain residency in DR.
in reading thru the forum, which i think is GREAT, i have found little information about what would be my main motivation for obtaining residency - importing household items w/o duty. i know that according to what is "written" as a dominican resident, you would have special benefits when important regular household goods duty free, but my question is "has anyone on this board, who has obtained a dominican residency, ever been able to bring anything into the DR duty free?" i'm talking about shipping something into the port (muelle). i know various persons who have residency, but no one has ever succesfully been able to use this benefit. has anyone here done it? is it real or just another tall tale? your responses are appreciated.

I am not aware of any successful story so far...

skyblue

Mar 20, 2006
that's what i'm afraid of, but deap down inside, i'm hoping someone will tell us different.

Gringo

Bronze
Jan 1, 2002