New in Town, lots of questions

David22

Oct 5, 2006
hey whats up everyone? I have been here in santo domingo for a couple of weeks so far and have a lot of questions about places i should check out (and ways that i can improve and accelerate my spanish language speaking skills). I am a study abroad/public health student from boston, recently graduated from undergrad, and am working at a health clinic here in the city. any advice concerning how to meet people and get settled is greatly appreciated.

thanks,
david

fightingirish

Dec 8, 2005
Private Message me, if you like. Im 31 y/o American guy who moved here this summer. I can give you a heads-up on some things, maybe...

riravaga

Feb 24, 2005
Hello, Im Dominican, any question feel free to ask me in spanish or english, I was living and Working for 2 years in Santo Domingo, now Im back to my town in a New Job since last month.

macocael

Bronze
Aug 3, 2004
www.darkhorseimages.com
and what is it you are looking for exactly? Who do you want to mix with? some of the hip bars currently are in the zone, such as Bio (big favorite of 20something middle class kids, over on Sanchez) and the original bar from the same owner just across the street on the corner (Billini con sanchez). I fyou want to see a typical outdoor "bonche" then head to Duarte Square, also on Billini, where there is usually a huge outdoor party. A more sedate spot with somewhat older people, good rock and roll from the old days and an interesting mix of ex pats and dominicans is "el bar de Maria" over on Duarte, otherwise known as Proud Mary's. The discos, over in the newer part of town, are a nother matter.

There are a bunch of cultural activities as well in the Zone, foreign films, music concerts, exhibitions, etc.