help!8years here.still no visa for my Dominican husband(not legally married)

leeanna

Feb 22, 2004
I have lived here for 8 years.I am an American resident.I met my Dominican husband and after on night,BAM, pregnant with twins!We stayed here and made a buisness,we reciently sold the buisness and really want to go to USA.I want to return to a better life for my kids.We have tried the consulat many times,but made the mistake of being honest and telling them about me being a resident and the kids are American.The lawyers say they will never give him a tourist visa cause he will want to live there with us.I can sponser him but it will take about 6 years.I am desperate.I don't want to break up our family and go without him.I can become a citizen if I live there for 2 1/2 years,then sponser him and he should get there about a year later.I really don;t want to be seperated for 3 years!
Anyone know anything that may help!!
I really want to go home!

SantiagoDR

The "REAL" SantiagoDR
Jan 12, 2006
I have lived here for 8 years.I am an American resident.
Best you check with an immigration lawyer.

I think you may have lost your resident status if you have been out of the U.S. for more than 12 months. Even if you have been going back and forth, I heard they are cracking down on legal residents that spend most of their time out of the U.S. Six months and more out of the country, U.S. immigration states that it is up to immigration whether you are allowed back in or not.

Check with a lawyer.

twincactus

Aug 9, 2004
www.dominicanstotheusa.com
You should just go the citizenship route. He will never get a tourist visa. Even if you become a citizen, it is now taking up to 2 years and in any case no less than 20 months to get the visa. SantiagoDR is right, you better get back and stay in the US lest you be kicked out because you really are not a resident if you spend all your time in the DR.

-Tim

SURFUP69

May 24, 2006