Question for Veterans: adjusting to new culture

Topper

Oct 22, 2006
So I'm new in the country and have been here bout a month. Single, crom California, in my late 20s.

I met a girl and have gone out on a few dates with her, but I CANNOT get a "read." I dont know if it is a thing with the culture or if Im just 'clueless'.

So Im asking you. Here are the facts:

The first time we met up, she was with friends. She was very warm -- holding my hand, dancing with me. But the night ended early.

For our planned second date, she didnt pick up her phone. Wrote me an email a couple of weeks (!) later that her phone was lost, but now she had found it.

Third date, we went to a movie. Her friends came along again. (Paid their own way, I paid hers.) She held my hand in front of them, was very warm, etc. Meanwhile, Im thinking she might really like me. She was very affectionate.

Fourth date, she invites me inside to meet her mother and father. Tells me she rarely does this. The whole date she talks about things we should do together in the future.

Now Im really getting into this girl. She is beautiful, I find myself thinking about her all the time, etc. She is educated and cultured. Our conversations are full and rewarding. Did I mention she is beautiful? ;)

So those are the dates. Its the in-between time that is schizophrenic. There must have been 5 times I have called her cell and she wont pick up. She wont even call back. She has cancelled several evenings' plans. I get the sense that if I dont take ALL the initiative, make the plans, call her four times -- including one to confirm that very evening -- I wouldnt ever see her again. And even when I do take all the initiative, there is a chance she might not be able to make it.

Maybe im a fool. If this were California, I would be SURE the girl wasn't into me, and would painfully move on. The not-returned calls? The cancelled plans? The zero initiative? Clear signals, right?