Do you express your opinions on DR1?

Do you express your opinion on DR1?

• Yes, I express my opinion regardless of the consensus.

Votes: 32 48.5%
  • Yes, I express my opinion, but only when it agrees with the consensus.

Votes: 2 3.0%
  • Sometimes I express my opinion depending on my mood.

Votes: 17 25.8%
  • No, I don't express my opinion due to the hostile nature of DR1 members.

Votes: 15 22.7%
  • No, it's not in my nature to express my opinion in general.

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
For some people, DR1 may seem a hostile environment for personal opinion about any subject to be presented.

For others (such as myself), DR1 is seen as any other medium where personal opinion could be expressed. In other words, personal opinion should be expressed because the audience will fall in one of two consensus: 1. they agree with me or 2. they disagree with me. If number one is the case, then you and the DR1 audience is of like mind, however if number two is the case, well it's only an opinion and opinions neither hurt nor kill!

However, despite this I have wondered why a select group of DR1ers are inclined to voice their opinions in various "important" subjects. By important I mean subjects based on politics, education, cultural development, etc; not the who slept with a Sankie today type of subjects.

It seems to me (and perhaps I'm the only one noticing this, then again maybe I am not the only one) that it's the same DR1ers who end up discussing the more important realistic and influential topics which do tend to get heated up and, as in the case of the threads which are either poorly moderated or not moderated at all, degenerate to personal attacks and discounting.