Dominican Journalism

Do you (in general) trust the Dominican media?

• Yes

Votes: 3 10.7%
  • No

Votes: 19 67.9%
  • Not Sure

Votes: 6 21.4%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Based on recent (and not so recent) news articles printed in various Dominican newspapers where journalists either embellished or exaggerated claims this poll has been created. Such occurence has occured on various subjects ranging from the murder of the expatriot in Puerto Plata (claiming he had restaurants and such when his son stated otherwise on this site) to the most recent carelessness presented in the assumption that the US military was planning to establish a military base in the DR when in fact that was nothing more than a rumor.

The question is this:

Do you (in general) trust the Dominican media?

A) Yes

B) No

C) Not sure

-NALs

tjmurray

Bronze
Aug 11, 2006
I feel like you have take journalism in the Dominican Republic with a grain of salt. Unfortunately, journalists are not free to write investigative stories in order to uncover corruption. The country is small and many people are linked so an investigative story about some politician could mean being terminated. The worst part is that journalists are given gifts by politicians. I did an internship last year with CDN canal 37 and we were sent to the Camara de Diputados on many occasions. This is where representatives of different sectors of the country supposedly make decisions. What they really do is talk on their cell phone and eat snacks. Well, all the journalists and politicans are real chummy inside the Camara, a little too chummy if you ask me. Basically, a journalist's salary in the DR is between RD$10,00-15,000, with RD$15,000 being cosidered very good. Needless to say, with a salary so low, a few "extra" pesos for some politicans helps out a lot. Obviously, if you risk losing your job and some free money, no journalist in the DR is really gonna uncover the dirt!

Don Juan