The Cuban Threat

What do you think the opening of Cuba to Americans would mean to Dominican tourism?

• Dominican tourism will collapse.

Votes: 6 6.3%
  • Dominican tourism will go through hard times.

Votes: 38 40.0%
  • Dominican tourism will not feel much.

Votes: 31 32.6%
  • It will mean nothing, Dominican tourism will remain strong and well.

Votes: 20 21.1%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
What do you think the opening of Cuba to Americans would mean to Dominican tourism?

A) Dominican tourism will collapse.

B) Dominican tourism will be hard hit.

C) Dominican tourism will not feel much.

D) It will mean nothing, Dominican tourism will remain strong.

For more insight into this, please visit the latest thread about this topic. The link is under my own quote from that thread:

Will it hurt the European component of Dominican tourism? No, Cuba is already one of the largest tourist destinations in the Caribbean with around 2 million tourists (almost all Europeans, although many Americans do visit despite the embargo). DR has not started to bleed because of that competition, despite the fact that many of the Spanish owned resorts that exist in the DR also have similar resorts in Cuba as well. Also, Cuba's tourism is on the all-inclusive model just like the DR's.