Medical needs in LT?

jacobr

Oct 19, 2006
Folks - I'm traveling to LT next week on vacation with my family. I'm a family physician here in the US. So I deliver babies, do office surgery, care for kids & adults.

We discard expiring pharmaceutial samples every month - as well as surgial supplies, etc .. and I wonder if there is a clinic in LT that I might donate them to. I'd even be interested in visiting a clinic or two in the region to see if there are additional needs.

If anyone knows of a doctor or clinic that would benefit from this - please respond here or forward my e-mail address (jacobr___at ..... gmail dot com) or send me a name and phone number. Ideally - if there is a list of medications or supplies that would be desired - I could look for them - or reach out to local colleagues in order to find them.

Thanks.

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
Where will you be staying on your vacation.

When I was living in Samana, groups of doctors would come every year to provide medical services and deliver supplies for use by the public hospital there. Public hospital are woefully short of supplies in this country. Many poor people do not get proper medical care because the hospital has no supplies and the people don't have the money to buy their own.

Wherever you will be, there will be a public hospital nearby and I am certain your gift of supplies will be welcome with open arms.

Squat

Tropical geek in Las Terrenas
Jan 1, 2002
There're a couple of good foundation in LT : Fundacion Dominico-Europea, FUndacion Mahatma Ghandi...

Go to LT7.com for more info...

CG

Bronze
Sep 16, 2004
Medical needs Las Terrenas

Your offer is great !, The hospital in Las Terrenas has limited supplies.
There is Dr. Ceasar Rodriguez ( calle hospital ) and Dr. Polanco ( calle principal )