Worldpress Article on Sonia Pierre and Human Rights for Dominico-Haitians

Jzakattack

Mar 4, 2006
Hello Everyone --

I've recently had published an article on Sonia Pierre and the question of human rights for ethnic Haitians in the DR. (Human Rights Award Stirs Controversy Among Dominicans - Worldpress.org)

I want to thank everyone on this site for your intellectual contributions, opinions and advice. I'm sure some of you will be dissatisfied with the content of the piece, but I tried to be as balanced as possible. Considering the contributions made by those I've interviewed, I think it's a pretty fair deal.

I'd love to hear what you all think.
Enjoy the holidays and peace to all --

JZ

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Good job!

The article was balanced and clearly presented both side of the argument.

I don't agree with a few things Sonia Pierre mentioned, but I usually find myself agreeing and simultaneously disagreeing with her everytime I read or hear her say something about such matters.

In any case, this has to be one of the best written pieces of a topic as delicate as this one.

Often times, I find myself disagreeing with the tone and general image such articles present of the DR, it sort of feels as if they are truly anti-dominican. This article, however, did not gave me such feeling. On the contrary, the feeling I get is that the DR is not being mocked as the worst place on earth, but rather a place with its problems and people disagree as to what should be done or even why such problems exist.

All in all, a fair report. Good job!

-NALs:)

bob saunders

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
dr1.com
In your article you refer to these Haitians born in the DR whose parents are illegally in the DR as people without a state, yet under Haitian law they are Haitians. Should you not have mentioned this as part of your fair and balanced reporting.

Mirador

On Permanent Vacation!
Apr 15, 2004