graphic design

Pyza

Jan 3, 2007
Im just curious if there are any grtaphic design jobs offered in domninican

johne

Silver
Jun 28, 2003
No

NOT for people that can't spell or proof read their work. In fact, nowhere on this planet.
Take that-from someone that was in graphic design and printing for longer than you are old.
My next posting is going to be nasty-no more Mr. nine gay.
U gte it?
jhonb

jrzyguy

Bronze
May 5, 2004
how about those of us who ARE almost literate? I have been working for a graphics dept for over 10 years...and my firm even has offices in Santo Domingo...

I did put it out there to my sr mgmnt...that outsourcing to the DR might be a better idea than mumbai (india)...but that fell on deaf ears.

Honestly..i think outsourcing to DR would be a brilliant idea!

#1 it is very easy to get to from the east coast...so it a VP or mgr can realisticaly have "hands on" vs at least a 14 hr flight to india.

#2 when dealing with Customer Service etc...someone with a slight spanish accent is SOOO much easier to understand than someone with an indian accent (not indian bashing...but damn...i have to say that i want to slam the phone down when i get some guy in mumbai on the phone...and who wants to reformat my Hard Drive cuz he is reading from a script)

#3..I am not sure if i am right on this one...but i dont think that latinos/dominicans are so rigid in their thinking and thought process (as the indian people i work with are). Part of the job of working in graphics...is that there IS no exactly CORRECT way to do things (but there are many ways to do something wrong). One has to "think outside of the box" (i hate that term but it applies). For some reason...i just think latino folks are used to thinking outside of the box (for various reasons)...so i think that we are very good for this kind of work.

This is something that i am very interested in...and perhaps we can discuss the practicalities at the party next friday.

johne

Silver
Jun 28, 2003