tell this newbie the very, very worst!

vin2216

Jan 16, 2007
Hi everyone
My name is Vivienne and my husband Nick & I want to move over to the Caribbean - but the question is, where? Every place we look into seems to have either no tax but a hidden levy / no crime but no activities / no sharks but no deepsea fishing or diving.... sigh!! So come on you lot, tell us what's wrong with the DR and why we'd be in trouble if we tried to start a business over there with our (admittedly not huge, @ $160k) amount of cash! Nick is a plasterer in the construction industry and I am a graduate administrator - is there hope for us? And just as important, how will our 4 young sons like it over there? Is it really that crime ridden? I'd rather pay taxes than be eaten by a shark or get mugged every day! :ermm:

ron-anejo

Dec 17, 2006
Wild, wild WEST.

Great place. North coast has more available. Punta Cana (bavaro) nice beachs but Higuey (1 hr away) is where you would shop.
Do not start a business! DO NOT BUY A HOUSE! Go there put your money in the bank and live off the interest.
And forget working your husband can't (wouldnt work) work for these wages.

vin2216

Jan 16, 2007
Ron, does this mean that if we build holiday villas for resale we won't make ANY money? Or just that we'll be driven mad as we go along? And if we shouldn't buy a house, why not? and where do we live in the meantime? Argh, questions, questions........

planner

.............. ?
Sep 23, 2002
While we can answer some of your questions we certainly can't answer them all. The only people who can do that are you and yoru family.

With any place you live there are tradeoffs! For weather you trade off earning capacity maybe. Plasterers won't make much here. Your skills - not sure what you might earn. Crime - live smart and it isn't any worse then many many other places.

I have to agree, do not buy a house. Come down here first for a visit. Have you even been here? Read DR1 threads, lots and lots of them.