FORBES: World's Most Congested Cities

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
According to Forbes magazine, "the cities with the highest level of population congestion are: Manila, the Philippines; Cairo, Egypt; Lagos, Nigeria; Macau, off the Chinese coast; Seoul, South Korea; Dhaka, Bangladesh; Buenos Aires, Argentina; Jakarta, Indonesia; Kaohsiung, Taiwan; and Santo Domingo, the Dominican Republic. To drive a car in any of them might be the ultimate challenge."
Source: World's Most Congested Cities

Another section of the report mentions the following:

"Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Population: 2,530,000

Density: 9,516 persons per square kilometer.

The capital of the Dominican Republic is also the largest city in the Caribbean and the oldest city in the Americas. Driving is always chancy, as the rules of the road are to a degree up for grabs. Traffic can be quite dense, and there is a layer of smog over the city. There are regular traffic jams and taking the bus is an alternative, but they have odd, if any, schedules and not too many stops. There is a metro under construction, but it is best not to wait to get on."

World's Most Congested Cities: Slides

Santo Domingo is only one of two Latin American cities (the other being Buenos Aires) with congestion levels that are among the highest in the world. Manila boasts the highest density in the world with 41,014 persons per square kilometer.

-NALs

suarezn

Gold
Feb 3, 2002
Sorry I don't believe this for a minute...Anyone who has traveled to other places in the world knows this cannot be right. I can mention several cities just in Latin America which are wayyyy more congested than Santo Domingo (i.e. Mexico city, Caracas, Lima, several cities in Brazil alone, etc...)

qgrande

Bronze
Jul 27, 2005