Moving to England!

AZUA

Oct 30, 2004
HI Eveyone.

When I was in college, I studied abroad in England and I loved it. Since then I have gone back to visit friends. I am thinking of moving there.

I wanted to know from you, what is it like living there and being Dominican? What is the Dominican experience in England?

I am an attorney and I need to do research as to what I would do there...for work. How is the job market? Is it very difficult for foreigners?

Anyway, I don't want to bombard you with questions. Any help is very much appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Aug 19, 2004
Pleased you like England (I assume the one in Europe) - I know several Dominicans here and would say the main issues are qualifications and language.

If you want to work in this field you may have problems as British law is different to that practised in the Dominican Republic + the professional bodies have strict requirements and you may need to retake exams etc..

The jobs market is quite good in England and you should be able to find work though you may need to be flexible.

To get started you will need plenty of mony - as you are probably aware rents and the cost of living is not cheap in England.

Which areas were you considering?

AZUA

Oct 30, 2004
I am planning on moving to Bristol. Then I will probably relocate to London.

dv8

Gold
Sep 27, 2006
i would advice you to do a thorough research on the subject. there is lots of opportunities in england but law is hardly an international profession as it differs so much from country to country.
you'd need to take loads of money too, i am talking about few thousand pounds to pay the rent, deposits and other costs before you start working.
probably you'd have to settle first for a job as a waiter/cleaner and start some free experience work in a lawyers office, not to mention some time in college before you can work in your profession.
i know it is hard to stomach but this is how people start unless they have more universal degree...