Dominicans in Greater Boston and RI

TheOP

Jul 14, 2006
Somerville, MA
Hello, people

I am a 23-year-old future MBA student at Brandeis University in Waltham, MA. Although I will begin my studies this September 2007, I will travel to the States, say, on May 25. I have many relatives in RI and a pretty much guaranteed social network once I arrive in Providence, but since I have never been in the States before, I would like to have my options open. I have lived my entire live in the DR, so this relocation to the U.S. will be a major change in my life.

Maybe some of you posters reading this are Dominican or belong to my age group. If you feel alluded to, let me know.

El Tigre

El Tigre de DR1 - Moderator
Jan 23, 2003
Oh man you are in for a surprise. Just go to Providence. I won't say no more...

...you know what, I will. Providence is like a mini Washington Heights in RI. The Dominican population there keeps growing and growing.

deelt

Bronze
Mar 23, 2004
Yeah you will see all the caribbean colored house (pink, peach, high blue) lol
and get your platanos with mondongo and cuchifrito on the side to go.

In MA, Lawrence, Peabody and surrounding areas that are almost all dominicans. If you want to tap into it all my suggestion is to visit some of the Latino and Caribbean clubs at Brandies. A good percentage of the Latino/Caribbean students there will also come from the surrounding areas. Hook up with them and they will show you the lay of the land.

Your biggest obstacle will probably be transportation to make the majic happen. So keep that in mind. NYC is also very close. I don't forsee many adjustment issues except at school, enjoy and make us proud. Just don't sell out.

Dominican0102

Aug 30, 2006
The Greater Boston area along with Providence area..together have more than 120,000 Dominicans...and growing rapidly each year..

TheOP

Jul 14, 2006
Somerville, MA
Guys,