Holy Week 2007

bdhall54

Mar 10, 2007
As our vacation is getting closer, we find that we booked during Holy Week. Travel agent never said anything about this and now I am a little uneasy as I read the post from others.
Can someome tell me how Holy week affects resorts? We are staying at Iberostar in La Ramona from 3/30 - 4/6 I was thinking about a scuba trip, but if all water sports are closed will that be possible? Will the locals stay at this type of resort? Is it true that music is non-existant during this week?
I'm not getting a warm and fuzzy feeling about this trip. We have been going to the Dominican for the past 7 years and look forward to this trip

Matilda

RIP Lindsay
Sep 13, 2006
All water sports are normally banned from the wednesday or Thursday through to the sunday. No religiuos regions just so many drunken people in the water they get minced by propellers. The threee years i worked as an instructor here we always got permission to carry on and it was always taken away at the last minute by the Marina ge guerra. So I suggest you accept no diving fron thurs or Fri to the Sunday. Its ususally fine earlier in the week

dulce

Silver
Jan 1, 2002
I think it is only motorized water sports that are curtailed at that time so you should still be able to scuba. Probrably locals will be at the resort at the same time. If you have been to the DR 7 times then you are somewhat familar with Dominican culture and can enjoy the diversity that the locals will bring.I am positive that there will be plenty of music being played. I am trying to make you feel better here. LOL