alleged campaign to discredit the DR: is it real

arturo

Bronze
Mar 14, 2002
I don't personally think so. My experience is that the truth tends to hurt a bit more in the Dominican Republic than in other places in the Western Hemisphere. To wit, Leonel's education minister had a kitten when the outgoing USAID chief expressed reservations about the state of public education in the country.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I think there is a campaign to discredit the DR.

Of course, I can go into detail explaining this and that, but I'll simply quote what a reviewer of "Coloring the Nation: Race and Ethnicity in the Dominican Republic" by David Howard had to say.

The reviewer is Michael R. Hall and below are a few passages from his review, which you can read in its entirety by clicking on the link at the end of this post.

Howard implies that Dominican resentment against Haiti is exaggerated. Although mentioning the Haitian occupation, he does not elaborate on the violence and brutality that accompanied it. Rather, the author insists that the occupation was really not so terrible and that the "populations were brought closer together" by the military occupation (p. 28). Incomplete citing precludes the reader from examining possible evidence supporting this contention.

If Dominicans are so anti-black and racist, as Howard argues, how does one account for Pena Gomez's election as mayor of Santo Domingo during the 1980s? Howard, nevertheless, argues that blackness in the Dominican Republic "loses elections" (p. 153).