Rain Forrests

airbornediver

Jan 23, 2007
Are there any places in DR that are Rain Forrest like El Junque in Puerto Rico? I went to Comatillo last month but it was still dry and not lush. I'm debating to fly into POP or STI. I'm not sure where to visit next. Thanks for your help

dms3611

Bronze
Jan 14, 2002
Rain forest, rain city, rain country..................

...........been nothing but "rain" and "lush" for the past couple weeks in the "northern part" of the DR.......

Narcosis

Dec 18, 2003
In the Caribbean, Puerto Rico has the only official rain forest. At least that is what they told us when we visited the one in Puerto Rico.

This is a hilarious statement...I think what they really told you is that El Yunque is the only tropical rain forest in the U.S. forest system.

The DR not only has "tropical rain forests" but several different types of rain forests to boot.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
In the Caribbean, Puerto Rico has the only official rain forest. At least that is what they told us when we visited the one in Puerto Rico.
If they told you that the Coqui frog exist only in Puerto Rico, well you are in for a surprise.

Coqui frogs also exist in the DR and a few other places in the Caribbean.

They were introduced from Puerto Rico, BUT the popular notion that the frog only exist in Puerto Rico and nowhere else is false.

-NALs

Don Juan

Living Brain Donor
Dec 5, 2003
Manabao.

About 10 miles west and maybe 2000feet higher from the town of Jarabacoa, you'll come to a tiny hamlet named Manabao. My family and I visited for a couple of days there and was taken aback by the natural beauty of this place which is as remote as you can get from anywhere in DR.
Many rivers, including the Yaque del norte, has its beginning from even higher in the mountains near there.