Requirements to practice law in DR

holita

Jun 6, 2006
Thank you, but that did not really answer my question

I need clarification.....

So, a person with a US law degree can practice law if they are a dominican citizen???

HOWMAR

Silver
Jan 28, 2004
I need clarification.....

So, a person with a US law degree can practice law if they are a dominican citizen???
Doesn't HB say you must be a graduate of a Dominican Law School? I believe you must sit for the equivalent of the Dominican Bar exam also.

holita

Jun 6, 2006
Doesn't HB say you must be a graduate of a Dominican Law School? I believe you must sit for the equivalent of the Dominican Bar exam also.

Yes he does....but it is unclear of the reasoning behind his statement. I wonder if the law requires you to graduate from a Dominican Law School...OR if you have to graduate from a Dominican law school in order to understand the law...

For example, if I studied on my own to pass the Dominican Bar exam and became a Dominican citizen, could I practice? Or does the law specifically state to practice law in DR you must get your degree from a Dominican law school. Depending on how the law is worded, would make a HUGE difference as to the implication. I would like to see the exact law stating that if possible...if anyone can point me there...Thanks.;)

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
You have to be graduated from a Dominican university. Your degree must be reviewed by the Dominican Bar Association.
A US law degree is kinda worthless here unless you want to offer consults to people doing business in the USA.

In order to practice law in the DR you MUST be a Dominican citizen.

As far as I know, there is no such thing as a bar exam here....

HB

Fabio J. Guzman

DR1 Expert
Jan 1, 2002
www.drlawyer.com
The legal requirements are the following: