Votes: 1 14.3%

Votes: 2 28.6%
  • 1 = Horrible

Votes: 1 14.3%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
On a scale of 1 to 5 with 1 = horrible and 5 = excellent, rate the new Parque Las Praderas which has replaced an abandoned lagoon in Santo Domingo.

dsc064721sw7.jpg

dsc064661rx2.jpg

dsc064651gc6.jpg

4431024750e0cd86d97oge5.jpg

443102143ca5c518458ovo9.jpg

laguna022la5ol2.jpg

-NALs

amparocorp

Bronze
Aug 11, 2002
5,,,,,,,,,,,,today,,,,,,,,,,,,but,,,,,,,,garbage cans will be stolen,,,,,,,,,,,,,bicycle lane is a joke,nobody will use it,,,,,,,,,,,my sweaty kid is not gonna play in that sand..........playground equipment is a joke, seen bigger and better at a day care,,,,,,,,nobody will water the new plants and trees, they'll be dead in 5 months,,,,,,,,fancy lightbulbs will burn out and not be replaced,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,but it's a 5 compared to the hole in the ground..............

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Hm, if nothing is built people complain. If something is built, people complain. Tough crowd.

Las Praderas is a nice enough area to have the neighbors form a private management committee funded by the community to maintain the park (already reached an agreement with the electricity company and have electricity 24/7).

Then again, that probably won't happen because in the DR everybody want the government to do everything.

People need to learn to think of these projects are gifts from the government to them and as such, the people should take care of such project as much as they possibly can.

That's how many parks in the US are maintained, through community actions. Well, at least that's based on what I have read on maintenance of Central Park and Bryant Park in NYC, public spaces under private control, otherwise it would become a wasteland in government hands.

It's a gift, people should do everything to protect it and maintain it.

But, it's easier to complain than to act.

-NALs

amparocorp

Bronze
Aug 11, 2002