North Coast Market Prices

Status
Not open for further replies.

travelkid

Jan 21, 2007
I know that this information has probably been discussed, but I was hoping to get some up to date information. I will be staying in Cabarete for the summer and was curious as to what two people should expect to pay each week for groceries. Any info would be great, and if not, I will just find out when I get there.

Thanks

ctrob

Silver
Nov 9, 2006
I know that this information has probably been discussed, but I was hoping to get some up to date information. I will be staying in Cabarete for the summer and was curious as to what two people should expect to pay each week for groceries. Any info would be great, and if not, I will just find out when I get there.

Thanks

A lot of variables of course... rice & beans? filet mignon?

I'm not an expert, I only stay for about a week at a time, and don't buy a lot of groceries. But what I have bought at the Supermercado in Sosua seems to be slightly cheaper then what I pay here in New England. Sosua is right down the road from Caberette.

And no haggling in the supermercado - fixed pricing...

Hope that helps a little...

cork

Aug 23, 2003
food budget

Thanks

My wife and I allot US$100 (RD$3200.) per week for groceries, and we don't go without our comfort foods. This does not allow for alcohol or dining out.

What you spend will depend on what you find that you will eat. The best prices are in Puerto Plata at Tropical and Jose Luis, but Playero in Sos?a is reasonable and is doing a wonderful job of obtaining US branded foods.

frankreyes3rd

Jan 15, 2007
Yum, Yum

Depends what you eat. If you try to eat north american, you can pay a lot, if you get someone to cook you/ teach you Dominican food, you will be eating great food and paying bugger all.