Doubts from a future newcomer

victoriac

May 17, 2007
spaces.msn.com
I'm a Venezuelan economist especialized in cost control and I decided to move to RD next july. I've been applying for some posts via Internet but I'm aware that it is easier to do it once I had settled there.

I've also been reading all the requirements for a Resident visa and a Temporary residency and I have read that to obtain the latter getting the resident visa is not an enforced requirement in some cases.

Thus, I have doubts on: How should I know if I don't need to apply for a resident visa first? What advantages does the resident visa give me? When does it expire?

In addition, among the things they ask, a financial statement is needed... Do I have to bring it made by an accountant or are letters from my banks enough? (Do I have to translate these letters since these are issued by an UK bank?) Is there any landmarks as to financial reliability the officers use to decide whether accept an application or not? Should I get a job first before applying for any of these visas or could I apply for the resident visa just based on my financial status?

Besides, I have also been reviewing the immigration law still in use and there appears to be complications for accepting single women into the country. Is it a demod? regulation inherited from old times or could I actually face discrimination based on sex?

Thanks in advance,

V.

Mirador

On Permanent Vacation!
Apr 15, 2004
Victoria,

Pardon me for asking, but why for Heaven's sake! would you want to move to the Dominican Republic? You are a trained professional, young, and should have no problem finding jobs in your own country, where your training is very needed, and in demand. I'm also Venezuelan (with studies from Universidad Santa Mar?a, University of Sussex, and a degree in economics from Indiana University). Please PM me for a more detailed advise regarding your plans...

Mirador

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002