Help me define 'eco-friendly", please?

slrguy

Oct 17, 2006
This term means so many things, to so many people.

I'm a real estate developer by trade, but work almost exclusively outside the US, when I build- which isn't as often as it once was. ;)

I am in the VERY early stages of looking at a project that, if I proceed, will likely be my last. No- I'm not so old, LOL- but this project would be a long-term labor of love, as opposed to down and dirty.

I have access to some land in the southwest part of DR. Old coffee land, which has lain fallow for a couple decades, at least. I can get a very attractive price on the land - attractive enough so that if I proceed, I'll have no bank breathing down my neck. Several hundred acres are involved. For obvious reasons, I can't be too specific at this point.

For years I have looked, in several countries, for a place to build an "eco-friendly" semi-resort. By this I mean a place where solar and/or wind power is utilized as much as possible (given the costs involved, these "alternate" power sources are NOT cheap). I intend a small hotel, with restaraunt/bar - and see using a significant piece of the land for orchards/gardens, to supply both the hotel and my buyers with very fresh, possibly organic, produce and fruits. Also- replanting coffee for internal use makes some sense to me- only because I've always wanted to grow my own.;)