"Entitled" Dominican Citizenship

yori85

Aug 2, 2007
I am trying to figure out how to go about getting Dominican citizenship that I am "entitled to" because I am the child of Dominican citizens and I am 18+. I've googled it and have only gotten procedure for everything but my status.

I am a US citizen but I am planning on living and working in DR in the fall. The DR citizenship would help my working situation. I am currently still in the states. Is it possible to start the citizenship application here or do I have to be on DR soil first?

By the way, I am new to the DR1. Just wanted to say this is an incredible resource.

AnnaC

Gold
Jan 2, 2002
Below you'll find what Mr Guzman has posted a few months ago. If you have any futher questions that are not answered in his post please feel free to ask and when he has time he will answer. Welcome to Dr1 ;)

A person born of a Dominican father or mother has the right to acquire Dominican citizenship by virtue of Article 11 of the Constitution and Article 26 of Law 1683 of 1948. The steps to be taken are the following:

1) Obtain birth certificate of the applicant, authenticated at a Dominican Consulate and translated into Spanish by an official translator here in the DR.

(2) Obtain birth certificate of the applicant?s Dominican parent.

(3) 3 pictures, 2 x 2 inches of the applicant.

(4) Copy of the first 3 pages of the applicant?s passport.

(5) Affidavit prepared by a Dominican Notary Public in which the applicant states his wish to apply for Dominican citizenship.

(6) Petition to the Minister of Interior with documents described above.

(7) Application and newspaper fees.

The applicant will have to make two trips to the Dominican Republic: the first to file the application (the affidavit before the Notary Public has to be sworn in person) and the second when the process is finalized.