hostility against haitians.

Status
Not open for further replies.

sybillecutey

May 16, 2007
was wondering why dominicans resent haitians. I've been reading threads about how, they don't care if you're african, jamaican etc... but if you're haitian, there will be hostilty.
Do you feel that things will get worse for haitians in the dr, or are they getting better.
I must stress that haitians contribute to the dominican economy very largely (students, construction workers, etc...)
So why the hate ?
It's making DR look bad.

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
Human nature - xenophobia is always strongest towards closest neighbours. Think of other parts of the world and it is no different.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
This is a two way street, plenty of Haitians resent Dominicans as well. In fact, the terrorist (they terrorize the Haitian citizenry during the ousting of Aristide) Haitian group known as the Haitian Liberation Front, headed by Guy Phillipe, is known for its anti-Dominican stance.

They were behind the protest that endangered Leonel Fernandez' life when he last visited Port-Au-Prince on a diplomatic trip (notice, the Haitian president and high ranking officials have made numerous official trips to Santo Domingo after that incident in Port-Au-Prince and their lives were never in danger and/or anti-Haitian protests did not occur in the DR).

In Haiti a long awaited students anti-Dominican protest turns violent, and at least 3 shot - December 12-13, 2005

They also spread panphlets along the border in both, the Haitian and Dominican side saying the following:

The Haitian Liberation Front said:
"... to the racist and slave owning Dominicans that treat us like beasts, their ranches, houses, women and daughters will be ours.

... to them, pro-slavery and racist Dominicans, we will cut their heads with our machetes and drink their blood like a sacrifice to our Vodoo Gods.