Probation (Parole) Officer

georgimoon

Sep 16, 2007
I'm thinking about relocating to the DR. I have a degree in Child and Adolescent Studies, one in Community and Criminal Justice and a Diploma in Probation Studies. I am an Offender Manager in the UK at the moment and was wondering what opportunities, if any, there are for my field of work in the DR? I also have experience of Cognitive Bahavioural Therapy.

Any help would be appreciated.

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
Forget about it, unless you are fully bilingual and want to work for peanuts.

You stand a better chance of getting a job as an astronaut here, than any type of social work, yes I'm serious.

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
Just thinking outside the box, I would research international organisations working in the DR, in related fields such as youth and children's issues, possibly also organisations working with prisoners and deportees - if they exist.
But as Robert says, if you're not fluent in Spanish there is very little you can offer.

Lambada

Gold
Mar 4, 2004
www.ginniebedggood.com
Is an 'offender manager' what used to be a probation officer or is it someone 'managing' :) offenders in a residential setting (i.e. what used to be a Borstal)? Just curious because I used to be a probation officer (in the community not inside) in UK in the 1960's.