The Mirabal Sisters

A.Hidalgo

Silver
Apr 28, 2006
30 years ago yesterday 11/25/60 the Mirabal sisters were murdered. Lets learn not to forget.

ON this day in 1960, three sisters were brutally murdered for opposing the dictatorship of General Rafael Leonidas Trujillo who had ruled the Dominican Republic for 31 years.

Trujillo?s agents murdered the three Mirabel sisters, Minerva, Paria and Maria Teresa, on a lonely road near Puerto Plata. Their deaths were officially recorded as accidents.

Violent world for women

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Patria, Minerva, and Mar?a Teresa Mirabal
Nico.%20Rep%FAblica%20Dominicana.%20hermanas%20Mirabal.jpg

B?lgica Mirabal (the one that remain in Salcedo and the only Mirabal sister alive today)
b_37_las_mariposas_eroine.jpg

-NALs

linamia

"an unexamined life is not worth living"
Jan 2, 2002
www.pascual5designs.com
ON this day in 1960, three sisters were brutally murdered for opposing the dictatorship of General Rafael Leonidas Trujillo who had ruled the Dominican Republic for 31 years.

the 31 years refers to Trujillo.

Lina

Norma Rosa

Bronze
Feb 20, 2007
30 years ago yesterday 11/25/60 the Mirabal sisters were murdered. Lets learn not to forget.

They will be forever in our hearts.

On July of this year I had the great honor of sitting down with Ded? Mirabal, the surviving sister, at her home in Salcedo. We talked and talked. She is beautiful, strong, clever. I had the opportunity to ask her a question that had been nagging at me for years: "Did any member of the Trujillo family ever said 'I am sorry' to you?" She responded: "no".

The province of Salcedo has been renamed. It is now Provincia Hermanas Mirabal.

Norma

asopao

Aug 6, 2005
no memory for 1937