cell phones

carynf

Nov 27, 2007
do cell phones,specifically iPhones, work in the D.R., both for cell phone access but more importantly for email and wifi connectivity?
thx, cf

benetlyne

Feb 2, 2003
Hi

Dont Iphone need a special carrier ... and beside u will be on vacation who needs a cell phone on vacation mine will stay at home

Ben

ridiela

Jan 22, 2007
Yes iphones do work in the Dominican Republic.

Actually if the phone works or not, does not depend on the model, you have to check with your carrier if you have international roaming active.

If you are from the US or Europe, you should not have any trouble, anyway call your carrier and ask about International Roaming.

Enjoy your vacation.

ridiela

Jan 22, 2007
I forgot to answer about Wi-Fi.

Wi-Fi works all over the world, you may go to "La Yuca Caliente" or "Alisei" they both have Wi-Fi.

carynf

Nov 27, 2007
thanks for the responses. precisely, it's not for business (what business? I'm an artist! but just the occasional piece of mind (the four cats at home with the house sitter!) caryn

drloca

Silver
Oct 26, 2004
I forgot to answer about Wi-Fi.

Wi-Fi works all over the world, you may go to "La Yuca Caliente" or "Alisei" they both have Wi-Fi.

Never used the wi fi there but strongly recommend "La Yuca Caliente", great dining establishment just a short walk from Alisei. Service is top notch andfood is good too;).

carynf

Nov 27, 2007
hmmmm, I'll be sure to check w/ At&t on how to avoid that one, anyone out there know how? I do know there are roaming charges in DR, but I'm not planning on using the phone part of it - I know that sounds a little strange since it IS a cell phone, but it's so great for going online and carrying around photos (examples of paintings, I'm an artist), music, etc.

Is Alisei a town? nr LT? or Playa Bonita? Sorry for my ignorance, but I've seen it mentioned a few times, and I'm always (always) to take on suggestions for great places to eat.

drloca

Silver
Oct 26, 2004