Good Beach near SD??

NY76

Jan 28, 2008
I'm heading down with my wife and want to hit a beach, but we're stayig in SD. I was told a taxi to Boca chica would be $130 US for the roundtrip. This can't be the best deal. Help.
Thanks.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
The best beaches near SD are in Juan Dolio. Boca Chica is nice, but the town ruins the experience.

On the other side of the island, in las Salinas there are some relatively nice beaches. However, the nicest one's near SD are in Juan Dolio.

-NALs

El_Uruguayo

Bronze
Dec 7, 2006
I like Carribean Sun, about 10 min east of Boca Chica. It's a smaller beach, with waves, and not too much hassle.

Celt202

Gold
May 22, 2004
For a day trip from SD Boca Chica beach has the advantage of having the largest lagoon in the Caribbean, sheltered by a reef about a quarter of a mile off shore. It's a great swimming beach and the water is shallow enough so that you can walk out to the reef.

If you spend the day at the Playa Vista beach cliub just behind the Europa Hotel you can have a pleasant experience at a place run by a great Englishman and a pretty good Dane.

The downside is the many beach vendors but they can be dismissed with a smile and a "no gracias."

There are hookers who ply their trade and that is a turn off if you are not used to third world "ambience" but they won't bother you (while your wife is looking :laugh:).

The night scene in Boca Chica can help you understand the concept of "low life".

The other beaches mentioned are nice but Boca Chica town has more options for eating.

$130 round trip for a taxi is a rip off.

Fernandez

Bronze
Jan 4, 2002
go to Boca Chica- and spend US$100 and serious scratchinig time on lotions and bug bites, bacteria from the putrid unfiltering water there.
suggest Juan Dolio beaches that are wide open, serious diving and water that filters/circulates instead of the big salt water pool at Boca Chica.