Anti-Dominicanism in Action

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Dominican Today said:
While wondering through a crowded market in Paris on a beautiful Sunday morning I stopped at the kiosk of a candy vendor and as I was looking at some of the most delicious marsh mellows one could think of, I decide to buy 100 grams. The very much tanned French vendor smiled, and noticing my Latin American accent he asked me where I was from in French. I said from the Dominican Republic. That brought even a bigger smile on the vendor’s and his French wife’s face who stood beside him proudly showing off her hair braids and tanned skin. They said to me: “beautiful country! A true paradise... we just got back from Punta Cana two days ago, and already have to start working again. We loved it over there…”

Another client standing beside me then started looking at me rather strangely, I would say in an irritated way. I assumed it was because my little chat with the vendor was taking too long, so I rushed and packed the candy in my shopping bag and while doing that, the guy said to me: “you Dominicans, you are murderers and thieves! That beautiful country of yours was ours and you stole it.” From his accent and his appearance I saw it was a Haitian man, and he was really upset. Judging by the ignorance of his remarks, I decided that I could not have an educated conversation with this guy and did not reply to him and rather just left hastily.

Read more about this here: Haitian-Dominican encounters in Europe

-NALs

bachata

Aprendiz de todo profesional de nada
Aug 18, 2007
I do not understand why the Haitians think they are the owners of the D.R. When they are Africans imported to work in the french plantation in the other side of the island.

JJ.

Chris

Gold
Oct 21, 2002
www.caribbetech.com
I do not understand why the Haitians think they are the owners of the D.R. When they are Africans imported to work in the french plantation in the other side of the island.

JJ.