Public Works 2004-2008

A.Hidalgo

Silver
Apr 28, 2006
as? como el ?nfasis en grandes obras p?blicas, a expensas del gasto social.
Translation
as well as the emphasis on large public works projects at the expense of social spending.

The above is from author and historian Bernardo Vega answering a question about President Fernandez's speech, were the president seems to take the Balaguer mantle, marking a shift in his political philosophy......eerrr elections are only a few months away.

Bienvenidos al Hoy Digital

Dominican Republic News & Travel Information Service

Last edited:

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
What Bernardo should've said was that the large projects attract the bulk of the attention.

Its always interesting to compare public perception with what actually occurs.

Most people think large projects compose the majority of public works and yet, most of the public works projects are relatively small, consisting mostly of health centers, education centers, aqueducts, electrification of rural areas, so on and so forth.

The same inconsistency between public opinion and the reality of public spending can be seen when a close analysis of the national budget and how the funds are being allocated.

-NALs

Chip

Platinum
Jul 25, 2007
Santiago
I can name a few public projects:

Fulanos and los primos de fulano got a new house and jipeta and a cushy job making 20 times what the normal population makes at which he has to do nothing nor has any accountability x 5000. Impressive, no?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003

Fulanos and los primos de fulano got a new house and jipeta and a cushy job making 20 times what the normal population makes at which he has to do nothing nor has any accountability x 5000. Impressive, no?
Case in point!

Despite the fact that the vast majority of the government's expenditure is NOT in wages, some people seem to think otherwise.

-NALs :ermm:

CarpeDReam

Feb 17, 2006