Colonial Zone Questions

abberboo

Mar 24, 2008
Hi Everyone,

I am going to the DR Saturday. I have a few questions, I definetely want to go to the Colonial Zone. I am staying in Juan Dolio. Should I plan that the Colonial Zone be a day trip and spend all day there? Also, when I take a cab from Juan Dolio, I guess in reference to Santo Domingo, is the Colonial Zone in Santo Domingo, or north, west east or south of it? Sorry for the dumb question this is my first time visiting for a week. I have seen/read that its going to be about $30-$40 us from Juan Dolio to Santo Domingo will it be around that same amount and also are cab rates in the DR priced per cab or per person?

Thx!!!

Skippy1

Feb 21, 2008
Ok Colonial Zone would take you about 1 hour to walk around but if you intend looking at the various musems about half a day. Watch out for the many money changers and tourist guides who will divert you into their buddies shops as they get commision. Be firm but polite and they will leave you alone....if thats what you want that is?
A cab well not sure where are coming from (Country that is) but the cabs here are very different ......private taxi or public car.
PC are cheaper but you risk life and limb not to mention all your possesions. Priced per person.

PT they have to be called mostly the hotel can do this for you. They are much better but still make sure you get the price agreed before you start the journey. Priced for the cab normally but not always????
Coming back is not so bad as there are many Taxi's available. Advice try not to go alone anywhere and do not be side tracked down an alley way on your own.
Stick with the crowds and you will be ok.
Price seems a bit high to me but like I said get the price agreed before you go anywhere. You can get a bus to Punta Cana ...4 hour journey .....for less than 10 dollars so dont be taking the first price...haggle.